Wow, what a prick!

Okay, so I decided that my experiments with Sunday practice would move into actual spoken-word territory. Jazz, yes, it helps the trance — and in a very trippy way. How about some audio podcasts this week? I settled on some of the integral podcasts from Integral Naked. How about starting off with Ken Wilber just explaining his idea of integral-ity?

Ah, it was so promising. The idea that human consciousness is evolving. That each layer includes all the others, that we are all heading in the right direction. I even had the happy thought that this whole philosophy could be summed up as: “It’s all good!” Yup, individuals and groups, cultures and cliques — all heading toward deeper enlightenment while encompassing all of the “previous” consciousnesses.

Oh, wait. Did I just hear KW use the word “smart” to denote the “more conscious” among us? Oh crap, did he really just mention those who are “authentic” (as in, more authentic than other people)? Aw, crap! He really IS a prick.

Sigh.

At this point, I imagine him in a cumberbund and smoking jacket. And he has his own logo embroidered on the jacket in gold thread. Gack!

I know humans are hierarchical. I know KW would find my revulsion naive. But I’ve seen monks and lamas and yogis who manage to tread this line without going down the us/them path. Even if your heart isn’t in it, you can at least start adjusting your discourse — because the language you use = the consciousness you create.

***

I made cherry turnovers for The Cop this morning. He’d mentioned wanting some last week. The results: meh. It was a shortening crust for the dough, and too shortening-y and flakey for my taste. Anyone have a more doughy turnover crust recipe?

Other things on the list for today:

1. Make ARTISAN bread for tomorrow’s lunch
2. Measure yard for grass and gravel perimeter
3. Look at potential new motorcycle for The Cop

Okay, just took the bread out of the oven. Sigh (happy one). I love the ARTISAN bread. So easy and so yummy. It’s shocking to eat processed bread after having homemade bread. Yesterday, I had a soyburger just plain on a plate, with a slice of artisan bread on the side. There were whole wheat buns on the counter, but I didn’t want store-bought.

***

Practice was good. It is getting nice and warm again, which rocks. I know I am a baby. It’s 72 degrees right now, and I’m just starting to feel like spring is here.

Anyhow, practice was good. I have been acutely aware that the right trap tightness is somehow related to the left sacrum tweak. How, I have no idea. Perhaps if I were more evolved, I would understand these things… 😉

I am including a urdhva dhanurasana picture and a little video of the wall thing. Pushing out through my arms is still mucho difficile and freaks out my breathing. Patience.

030908ud.jpg

In the picture/video, you’ll notice I have on the same top as Cranky in her most current video posting. I love it, Tova! Super comfy. Also of note in the video: my laptop, which I used to listen to the pricks (sadly, Deepak Chopra was one of the pricks, whining about how Richard Dawkins dissed him). I turned the sound down during filming, so you could more clearly hear my grunts and ragged breathing. Not really. I was just protecting you from the prickery.

Also notable: the svadyaya tattoo on my inner elbow. Which just looks like a smudge from a distance. My boss is being very gracious about the svadyaya, despite the fact that I know it freaks her out. Still, despite her apparent high-class evolutionary status, she does not act like a prick. Nice.

P.S. Anyone got any great psoas-openers for UD/kapo?