The Dirt Ramp and the Motorcycles, Talking to Tova

We are getting rid of our pool. We don’t use it, but it sucks up water and electricity. It doesn’t fit into The Cop’s plans for our environmentally-responsible lifestyle.

A guy is going to come over with heavy machinery and dig it all up, then fill the hole back in with dirt.

So I just said to the Cop, “When we have the dirt in the backyard, I want to make a dirt ramp. To practice chakrasana and dropbacks.”

He rolled his eyes. “So you’re going to go out in the backyard and lie in the dirt?”

“No,” I replied. “I am going to put something over the dirt before I lie on it.” Probably his yoga mat, if he keeps the bad attitude.

“Do you want to just bring the dirt in here? Maybe in the yoga room?”

I went into the kitchen to do other things. He came in and said, “I’m going to sell my motorcycle. And then I’m going to buy two motorcycles.”

I didn’t get the low down on why he wants two, because I was busy pointing out that I get grief for wanting to make a ramp of dirt with dirt that will already be in the backyard, and here he is, asking about having two motorcycles.

“Did it sound like I was asking?” He started laughing. “Oh, I’m not asking.”

So I guess the new thing around here is going to be a dirt ramp in the backyard and two motorcycles. You know the whole thing about keeping up with The Joneses? Yeah, I think we’re off that grid.

***

I got to talk to Tova today. On the phone.

🙂

Practicing with people

Went over to the new shala in town. Not really a shala, per se. A Thai massage place that offers a few Mysore practices per week, and this morning was a led class. Well, kind of led. They put on the SKPJ video of primary and we practiced to that.

It was great to see The British Director and Muscle Man. Also there were a few people I don’t know — a total of 6 of us.

So the verdict is in: practicing with other people pulls me outside of myself and inside of myself at the same time. Distractions and self-consciousness. Not in any significant or disturbing way — I just noticed it. The heat in the room was nice, too.

Having other people around makes you more conscious of what your poses look like, how deep you go into the pose, blah, blah, blah.

Not good or bad. Just different.

After practice we went over to a vegan tea room across the way. Scottsdale is getting so trendy.

Nice to practice with some people, but I have a kind of emotional disconnectedness. No idea why. I guess I like the camaraderie of a shala, but have some… what? Are they emotional battle scars? A weird attachment to independence? Was the dissolution of Mysore practice with Volleyball Guy traumatic? Is it just time for me to practice alone for a while?

Who knows.

I may go back next Sunday. We’ll see.