Perpetual energy machine

Gah. You know those days when you wake up and kind of want to cry because you just really want about 8 more hours of sleep? Yeah.

The weekend will be here soon. The weekend will be here soon.

In the meantime, this week is devoted to performance review sessions. This is an opportunity for me to lay out how I see each manager’s performance, and their potential. And it’s their chance to say how they see their contributions and their potential — their professional selves. And how they see me. And whether our perspectives are aligned.

So we review current reality and explore some alternatives (as necessary). Agree on a path for the future. And then I like to talk to people personally. I like to wipe my mind clear and see the person in front of me, without all of the other “stuff” (politics, habitual frame of reference, my personal opinion) and make a connection with the human who spends so much time and effort trying to do the right thing.

Yeah. That’s this week. I’m making energy for it during practice each morning. Usually I have evergy to spare, but my battery is not charging properly at this point, so I am really hanging on by my fingernails by about 3 PM each day. Luckily, I have some emotional currency with the team. So even if I’m a little burnt around the edges during their reviews, they’ll cut me a little slack and try to see where I’m coming from, and what my challenges might be.

Can’t ask for more than that.

Music I’m listening to (shout out to Cody): “Layla”/Derek and the Dominos/Layla and Other Assorted Love Songs

5 Responses

  1. hi Karen
    it’s important to have those. when they slide, meaning they arrive late or not at all, it signals trouble in a company or trouble coming to an employee. Happy Obamarama.
    hugs
    Arturo

  2. Giving performance reviews is exhausting. Hugs!

  3. EC is God!

  4. I have no interesting comment, just wanted to say hi!

  5. Hey, I know how that is when the battery isn’t charging properly overnight. I definitely want to cry sometimes at 5am! You’re right… soon it’s the weekend. Tomorrow is Friday. Whew!

    Good morning, Karen! Have a beautiful Thursday.

Leave a Reply

