Healed by Intermediate. And by Dog Crate.

The T12 thing seems to be resolved. Had a few moments of intuition which directed me to: 1) cancel yesterday’s appointment with Disco Doc, 2) book an appointment with Candice the Massage Therapist (aka Thumbs of Steel), and 3) resume the backbends at the beginning of second series.

Work has been a blur of 7 AM meetings and presentations this week. Been getting up really early so I can practice beforehand. It occurs to me that the act of getting up really early to practice may be a kind of penance for the fact that the practices have been crim? πŸ˜‰

Anyhow, this morning, the weird spot in my back seems to be healed. No pain at all, and it doesn’t feel out of alignment any more. (The alignment thing was not my imagination: The Cop patted my back from some reason last week and said, “Hey, is this the thing you’ve been talking about?” when he touched the unaligned part of the spine.)

Perhaps the awareness work of the Anusara class helped?

Does this mean we can heal ourselves with awareness? Who’da thought? (Note: may have political, as well as physical, applications…)

***

One of the most efficacious healing moments came in the parking lot of Petsmart on Wednesday evening. I wanted to get a new crate for Tyler, who outgrew (in three weeks) the one that looked so big to me and The Cop when we bought it.

Every morning, I am awakened at 3:30 AM by the sound of Tyler scratching himself. He is a super itchy puppy. We are trying to solve for the skin issue, but there was also the added sound effect of him banging up against the walls of his small crate as he scratched. An extraordinarily annoying alarm clock. So Wednesday after work, I went to the pet store to get a bigger crate.

I picked out the crate, which is huge, even collapsed in its box, and wrestled it into a shopping cart and made my way to the cashier. Then I rolled the cart with the box precariously perched atop it over a number of parking lot speed bumps and to my car.

Which is, I remembered as I got back to it, a lifted Jeep Wrangler. Lifted by The Cop, who is tall. To a satisfying Cop height.

It took a good while, a number of tries, and a few aborted car/box configurations to stuff the huge box into the tiny interior of the very tall Jeep. While dressed in a suit. With low blood sugar before dinner.

A bad situation all around.

But I triumphed. First, though, I tweaked my lower back a bit. Which would have freaked me out except I was feeling so determined, and also because my current list of injuries felt so long that throwing another issue into the mix wasn’t that big a deal.

Right piriformis. T12. Right wrist. And now I’ve tweaked the right sacrum… Hey wait a minute, there’s a pattern here. I am all messed up down one side.

I am highly aware, what with all the practicing, that my right and left sides are very different. I twist to the left FAR more easily than to the right. My left hip is FAR more open than the right. Ditto the left shoulder. Etc. Etc. Etc. As a result of all of the adjustments I’ve been having, I think the whole chain of weaknesses kind of ripped open. Like the kind of climbing accident called a “zipper” — A fall where the protection pulls out one after the other as the leader succumbs to gravity. Often ends with a grounder (or a cardiac arrest) .

Or a cardiac arrest… Climbers are funny.

So yeah, I thought: Great. I have a zipper effect happening down my right side.

And I got into my Jeep and drove home.

***

Cut to this morning.

The T12 feels… well, it feels normal.

Practice today is Primary. Thus ends Crim Week.

10 Responses

  1. Hi Karen
    If you see a reader from Puerto Rico, that’s me. I also have differences between my left and right sides during practices. I don’t want to focus on cardiac arrests too much, though, since I’m witnessing too much of that here. ha!
    hugs,
    Arturo

  2. Oh, I have such a huge difference between my right and left. Right is tight but much stronger. Left is much more flexible but quite weak. I love how you are able to describe everything in such detail that’s going on in your body!

    What are you feeding Tyler? I forget what area of the country you live in but I think it’s desert-esque? Which means probably few airborn allergens (but very dry air, probably not helping). That would point to a food allergen. The majority of dogs are allergic to wheat and wheat gluten, an ingredient often found in even the priciest of dog foods. Corn can also be a culprit. Try a homemade diet for a few weeks and see if the itching stops? Either lamb and rice or chicken and rice? And/or try an omega fatty acid supplement. Ok, I’ve been outed, I’m a dog geek.

  3. Arturo! Thinking of you and your family. Hope you are well.

    S, we are in Scottsdale. Tyler eats a BARF diet (bones and raw food). The Cop is convinced this diet is why Maxine has lived so long & so healthily. He chops vegetables for them, and then adds raw ground meat & bones, and some yogurt.

    Because we can’t pour raw meat down Tyler’s throat fast enough to keep up with his ravenous appetite, we are also giving him some kibble. It’s a non-grain kibble — just turkey and duck.

    I’m going to try the EFA idea! Right now, in fact. I’m tempted to rub some ON him, too, at this point! πŸ˜‰

  4. Oh, GOOD diet! Very time consuming (not to mention expensive) for such big dogs! I think The Cop is right. We feed a modified BARF and some high-quality canned food and kibble thrown in when I’m lazy. I’m pretty sure it’s why my dogs are pretty healthy. I’m assuming you guys have read Dr. Pitcairn… πŸ™‚ Could be dry air? Definitely not plant allergens (grass, ragweed, pollens, etc) in Scottsdale. I would think try the EFA then. Which kibble do you use?

  5. Actually, sadly, Scottsdale has TONS of plant allergens. This town is overrun with non-native flora –an asthmatic’s nightmare. Which is funny, because historically, people came here to *escape* allergies.

    The breeder said Tyler’s dad had grass allergies the first summer of his life, then outgrew them… Hope that’s all this is.

    I imagine The Cop’s read Dr. Pitcairn. I’ve just learned the diet from him.

    We’re using a kibble called “Now.”

  6. LIashtangi, my body is EXACTLY like that. My left leg is wobbly and shaky, so that after 5 1/2 years of practice, I can’t balance in UHP. My right leg is firm and solid. Left side more flexible though. It’s just so weird to feel like some Frankenstein creature with two different body halves slapped together.

    Scottsdale was basically settled by Chicagoans. (My parents and sister live there. They’re all from Ohio.)They brought their love of grassy lawns with them. Grassy lawns not suited to Scottsdale and have created Midwestern style allergies. A bit simplified, but that’s what happenend.

  7. Hi Karen!,
    I’m glad you’re not in so much pain:)

    I am sorry to hears that Tyler is still having skin issues. It’s odd, it’s just not something we normally see in our dogs.

    Other than that, how is the little devil?? His maniac little sister damn near cut her toe off 2 weeks ago (to the tune of 8 stitches!!) but that’s a whole other story, she is “hell on wheels”.

    Luv the blog…..not only to read Tyler updates but to follow my facination with Yoga. I am extremely uneducated about the subject but I think I am learning. How long have you practiced (don’t know if that is the right word, lol) Yoga?

    Keep up the good work!

    Tami

  8. Hi Tami!

    Yes, “practiced” is the right term. I’ve been at it for about 8 years now — but didn’t start doing a dedicated daily practice until 3 years ago.

    We’re just back from the vet. She thinks it’s a bit of a staph infection (puppy acne) and prescribed some anitibiotics. She said it’s quite common in puppies, especially large breeds, because they are growing fast and their immune systems are struggling to keep up.

    He’s cheery and happy, so it’s nothing dire. I just hate that he is so itchy in the morning. Hopefully this will clear it up quickly.

    Sunday we start puppy training school. That should give me something to write about! He’s a delight, and I am totally in love with him. πŸ™‚

    Karen

  9. Oooooh, if they will let you, you must take pictures at puppy training school!!!!

    I can’t imagine all those grassy allergens out in the desert. Here it is high ragweed season, so both Rufus and I are miserable. Plus the mosquitos are breeding like crazy on LI, and they LOVE me.

    Yes, my left side and right side do not match. Sigh.

  10. Oh! I didn’t think of that! Pictures at puppy school. I’ll try to get some! It ought to be hilarious.

    Tyler can actually pay attention and respond quite well when we are here at home. Yesterday, at the vet, though, he was a maniac. Mostly because everyone was loving on him and cuddling him and squealing about how cute he is.

    Puppy school is in the middle of a retail place (Petsmart), so it ought to be chaotic and distracting. LOL! I guess if he can learn to pay attention in that atmosphere, he’ll end up really well trained…

Leave a Reply

