Diamond Story

I go into work at noontime today. One of the managers tells me she’s having a bad day. She looked at her hand when she was typing and realized the diamond was missing out of her ring.

The ring is beautiful, a combination wedding/engagement ring. Avant garde design, with a pressure setting. The metal of the setting has two finishes, one matt and one shiny. And a detail line of small diamonds. The main diamond was from her husband’s family. She felt really bad about losing something that had been in his family for so long.

She’d looked all over the building, in her car, across the parking lot. By the time I got in to work, she’d given up. She’s quite calm and philosophical, so she was busy coming to grips with what had happened.

As she told me the story, I flashed on a memory of being in one of our conference rooms, talking with her and another manager. I recalled looking at her ring from across the table and being curious that I could see the detail diamonds flashing, but no reflection from the main stone. I thought it was an optical illusion of some sort.

It took me a minute to remember what day the meeting had taken place and which meeting room we’d been in. I didn’t say anything to her, but took a stroll over to the room, recalled where she’d been sitting and looked under the table. There, sure enough, was the diamond, exactly as I imagined.

It was very cool — unravelling all of this from a little fragment of perception.

I went back to her desk.

“Close your eyes and put out your hand…”

“You found it!”

She was so happy. What a nice way to finish up on my last day before vacation.

14 Responses

  1. How fun. Have a great vacation.

  2. How cool, Karen! In my fantasies I am this observant and together and in-control! πŸ˜‰

  3. Hi Karen
    What a sweet story. Hope you have a great vacation (Sweeney bound?)
    Cheers,
    Arturo

  4. Yay! Vacation. Yes, I am off to Minnesota tomorrow and will spend the week practicing with Matthew Sweeney. I am very much looking forward to it!

  5. Aw, good story! Matthew Sweeney, very nice. Full report, please!

  6. what a wonderful story! i’m smiling.

    have a lovely week!

  7. This made my day.

    You’re really something, lady.

    And you coworker… she’s also pretty cool. I like a woman who can wear a diamond without taking stock of it all the time. She seems to have gone a day or two without paying it any mind, and to have taken the loss in stride even though the finding will be unforgettable.

    Have a wonderful week.

  8. She really is something. Not one to spend time admiring her own jewelry, despite the fact that she has exquisite taste in unusual jewelry. And not one to overreact–in fact, she is famous for her cool head. I am really lucky–both she and one of the other key managers who report to me are incredibly mindful about how they use their energy and emotions. Most admirable!

  9. wow congratulations, I bet that felt great knowing you were able to help her out. It’s like the guy in Virginia who found an expensive ring and is trying to find the owner instead of keeping it.

    http://mervisdiamond.com/blog/?p=356

  10. I’m a little late here, but wanted to say have a wonderful wonderful time! And how amazing that you were able to reconstruct those events.

    I’m sure the stone had a lot of sentimental value, and philosophical or no, it would have been very sad had she lost it.

  11. Wow, how cool. You rock, DZM πŸ™‚

    Have you seen MS’s new book, vinyasa krama? Amazing.

    Have fun!

  12. Wow! Very cool! It was amazing practising with you in MN Karen, and I enjoyed the brekky too! xo moni

  13. Monica! So cool to hear from you! I am missing the Mysore room already. Just this morning was thinking about how I enjoyed the weekend and afternoon sessions, but really MISS the Mysore mornings…

  14. Karen, i totally agree, i am greiving, and have been restless with moon day and now saturday… had an intense dream about a new baby… the down side of practicing with a teacher, and other people, it reminds you of how great it is, then it’s just you alone….sort of surreal. One week was too short, but I won’t say that again πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

