Open

Workshop with Volleyball Guy, just returned from India. He was sitting outside as I walked up the driveway.

“Happy to be back?” I asked.
“No.”

He’s a traveler — of the Paul Bowles Sheltering Sky variety.

Still, lovely to have him back. And to see the familiar faces of the other Ashtangis who waited inside. Lots of hugs all around.

106 today and we practiced without any air conditioning. Plus, it was noon; I’d had a light breakfast. Ideal conditions for a super open practice. And it was.

Primary and the first third of intermediate. I was psyched to get adjusted in kapotasana. As I went back and over, my upper back felt totally open and stretchy and gooooood, and my lower back felt open and released and… kind of really scary. I talked a little recently about the un-puffy feeling one gets when eating a raw diet. As if there is no padding between muscle and nerve and bone. That is absolutely what my lower back felt like — open and unpadded. And it opened right up on the right side, less on the left. I grabbed the balls of my feet comfortably.

I felt a little shaken afterward, as if I’d been a bit abandoned in my entry. It makes me a bit nervous, the unevenness of the opening, but I don’t think there’s much to be done about it, beyond persevering.

4 Responses

  1. hi karen,
    wow, that is hot, 106, and without airconditioning, and you got to the balls of your feet, woowe.
    cheers, arturo

  2. Wow, 106 in June. It will probably be 120 when I am there in August, for Dad’s 88th birthday.

  3. Perhaps we’ll turn the airconditioning on in celebration of your visit, Suzie.

Leave a Reply

