Detox or salmonella tomato?

God, I felt awful last night. Worked from home the first half of the day and felt terrific. Went into the office for four back-to-back hour-long meetings, and left with a raging headache and stomach ache. Came home and got directly into bed. Put a pillow over my head and prayed for unconsciousness.

A couple hours later, The Cop left for work. He’d brought me ice to put on my head, water, and some ibuprofen. Still felt awful. Considered getting up to wash my face and brush my teeth, but didn’t. This means I’m really sick, because I am fanatical about flossing before bed.

Woke at 3 AM. Wondered if the headache was all gone. Seemed to be. Kinda shaky and spaced out, but fairly normal. Tried to go back to sleep, but no go. I had a 7:30 breakfast meeting, so figured I might as well get up and see how I felt about practicing.

Practice was fine, if a little spaced out. Kept monitoring myself to see if I felt particularly weird. All in all, not too bad.

Now I’m back at home after the breakfast meeting & will work from here all day. Stomach still sketchy, but no headache. Whatever it is, seems to be getting better. Or maybe healed by primary.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Karen
    Sorry about your not feeling well. It could be stress from all of the meetings. It could be adjustment to a new diet of raw foods. Raw foods might be detoxifying, but the digestion is a bit different. Vegetarian raw food causes more rumble in the stomach from undigested proteins. I find it useful to eat beanzyme or beano to help the digestion. I’m used to it by now. It’s not uncommon on a raw food diet to go to the bathroom more frequently. Also, if you are sensitive to sweetners made from sugar alcohols, it can create an interal orchestra in your digestive track. You’ll probably be eating more dietary fiber, and fiber in general causes more intestinal gas. Well, you’re not complaining of that yet, but that’s just a heads up. Your palate has to get accustomed to the taste of raw foods, too.

    Kino was a raw foodist when I met her. She now eats some foods raw, others cooked. She finds that when traveling, most of the world prepares food cooked, and being flexible allows her to be easier going. Also, she used to shun milk, which she doesn’t now, if it’s from cows that have been humanely treated. I am consuming kefir, which is a dairy product. I ocassionally consume mozzarella cheese, but I’m concerned about saturated fat, so I’m cutting back.
    I’m talking too much. Tomorrow I’m going on a daylong. That should shut me up.
    Cheers,
    Arturo

  2. Oh no.

    Any conclusions?

    Sorry about this. You’re pretty detoxed already, but it sounds like the symptoms of it, sort of.

Leave a Reply

