Desperate to read? Stymied by spatial direction?

Sure, I get sick of reading business cases and reports. Sure, I’m OVER PowerPoint presentations.

Yes, I look forward to getting in a few minutes of Infinite Jest before I keel over into unconsciousness each night. A little bit more literature in my day; is that too much to ask?

Apparently not. Click this link and then click on “NZ Book Council Guest.” Then doubleclick the folder of your choice on the left side of the screen…

All of my problems have been solved.

***

If you Google “spatial direction” you get some trippy quantum physics stuff and also an excerpt from Encyclopedia of Indian Philosophies: The Philosophy of the Grammarians (don’t ask me why I know this).

(without bends), and this action is one of going upward.

Does anyone else love fragments the way I do?

Oh word-based ready-made, I love you.

***

Direction differentiates material things (murta) in terms of nearness and remoteness, while time distinguishes them in terms of sequence of actions. Direction is the basis of the talk of contact and disjunction through the perception of occupied and unoccupied regions of the sky.

There is no fixed arrangement of spatial direction. The various compass directions, which seem to divide systematically, are mere names when they are divested of reference to things (for example, the sun at a particular time) with which they are associated.

Based on distinctions such as “this,” “that,” “eastern,” “western,” and the like, which are introduced by spatial direction, are the divisions seen in things from mountains to atoms. These divisions are characterized in terms of the accompanying entity (for example, presence or absence of light) or configuration, but the concept or capacity called “spatial direction” is their ultimate foundation. Things per se are beyond division, sequence, and fixation by region. Division with which the adjuncts invest them has no end and cannot be something inherent to them. Yet division cannot be avoided. Spatial direction is operational everywhere. Along with time, it is part of the very nature of living beings.

Okay, I’m back. Just ordered the book. How could I resist? Anything that instantly pops me into right-brain first thing in the morning wins my undying love.

This whole thing started because I was going to tell how The Cop’s parents sent us a GPS system for the car. They bought a new one and sent along their old one. I got home from work, and The Cop was looking at it with a bit of disdain. Easy for him to do, since he is not spatially challenged. My first thought? “Woohoo! I can program it with addresses I need to find when I’m in Minnesota!”

Yup, July 11-17 is Matthew Sweeney in Minnesota week. Turns out the hotel near the shala is bad, so I booked a room downtown. Which meant renting a car to get back and forth to the shala. Which also means driving from the airport to the hotel. All of these things are a huge challenge to me: as I mentioned, I have no sense of direction. And I don’t mean I have a poor sense of direction; I mean, I can get lost in my own neighborhood.

I do feel better now, though, knowing that “things per se are beyond division, sequence, and fixation by region.”

So there you go. An object lesson in what happens when I surf the web and try to tell a story at the same time. 🙂

2 Responses

  1. Literature on ppt — what a silly, great idea! I just read a wispy, delicate short story. So nice because my bedtime reading is left-brain these days (non-technical science). But it is interesting what the ppt does to the reading experience. I found myself reading very fast, which I do when presented with a crowded text slide during a presentation, instead of slowly sipping the prose, which is my preference for short stories. And certain phrases were left as headings, giving them odd import. As for the spatial direction — I’m afraid that one is over my right brain limit. I’ll stick to the short stories…
    Megan

  2. Hi Megan! Yes, isn’t it interesting how the PPT format makes the literature “feel” so different? I find it hilarious. But sad, too, in a way — surely I look at too many PPTs!

Leave a Reply

