Puff Pastry Recipe

The turnovers I made this morning rocked.

“Now THAT’S what I’m talkin’ about!” said The Cop, as he tried his first one. He didn’t care for the crusty ones from last week. This recipe, though, is puffy and doughy at the same time.

And very easy to make:

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups flour
1 cup butter
1/2 cup sour cream

Directions

1. Cut butter into flour until it resembles crumbs.
2. Stir in sour cream.
3. Turn onto a floured board and knead until it just holds together.
4. Form into a ball, flatten slightly and wrap airtight.
5. Refrigerate at least 2 hours or overnight.
6. Use in any recipe calling for puff pastry.

I made apple turnovers by just peeling a couple of Granny Smith apples, chopping them up, and throwing some sugar and cinnamon over them.

Rolled out the dough to a 11 x 16 rectangle. Trimmed the edges until left with a 10 x 15 rectangle. Then cut that into six 5 inch squares.

Put some of the cinnamony apple pieces onto each square, fold, crimp with a fork, and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

Easy. Yummy. Perfect for Sunday.

3 Responses

  1. Wow, that sounds fantastic. I would try it, but I suck at “rolling out the dough.” It always always sticks!

  2. I made the dough last night and let it sit in the fridge overnight, which seems to make it less sticky. I also use a marble… uh, what’s the name of the thing you roll dough on? See, I’m not a pro! — anyhow, I rolled it out on a marble slab, and used lots of flour. No significant sticking problems.

  3. I even have granite countertops and dough still sticks! But chilling overnight is a good idea, I’ll have to try that.

Leave a Reply

