More massage, 3:10 to Yuma, SKPJ in Scottsdale

Yay! A visit with Dahlia. So good. Today I discovered that my favorite place for a massage is my feet. I guess I should look into reflexology. What also, surprisingly, felt particularly great? My forearms. Especially the right one. I guess that makes sense, seeing it’s my mouse arm.

No massage next Saturday, because I’ll be at a retreat at the zendo. A yoga/zen meditation retreat. Right up my alley. I’m looking forward to seeing what it’s like.

***

Last night we watched about half of the movie, “3:10 to Yuma.” I don’t know if it was just me, but the movie made me pretty sad. The characters are so casually brutal. It all feels so unforgiving. We’ll watch the other half tonight. I want to see if my reaction yesterday was just about my mood.

I thought of the movie when I went to the pharmacy before my massage. Picking up some antibiotics for the dog. The super dorky pharmacist was there. He is young, tall, awkward. Just a totally dorky fellow. With a very nervous laugh. I immediately wanted to be nice to him so he could feel a little more comfortable. But it occurred to me that his super high levels of nervousness and discomfort probably incite people to be rude to him. Just because his awkwardness is so jarring.

Anyhow, I walked away from our transaction realizing that people could choose to feel that awkwardness and try to be kind, or they could lash out in an attempt to avoid the feeling. And that’s how it seemed like the characters were behaving in the movie last night. Highly self-centered and unfeeling. I guess the excuse would be that times were tough in the Old West and you had to look out for Number One.

[Here’s a quick update: we just finished watching the end of the movie. The first half is about brutality and humiliation (that was the part that was getting to me, the casual humiliation of the homesteaders by the more powerful landowners and vicious outlaws), but the second half is about honor. So in the end, I’ll give the movie two thumbs up.]

***

I was considering heading over to a Mysore practice tomorrow morning. Looked at the website for the studio where The British Director and Sanskit Scholar have been practicing lately and there was an ad for a led primary with Guruji. Huh?! Turns out it’s a class where they’ll show SKPJ leading a class that includes Richard Freeman and Tim Miller and other old school stars. And people at the Scottsdale studio can practice along. It’s kind of a neat idea, but I don’t think I can handle the extra media.

It’s one thing to ditch my earplugs and go to a practice in a room with a few other people. A whole ‘nother thing to add voices, televised material, and the led format on top of that. Might send me over the edge. I am now officially a hothouse flower. 😉

4 Responses

  1. i have been having some severe focus problems lately and i think i might ditch my usual music and try some earplugs tomorrow.
    and i really like your observation about the pharmacist.

  2. Let me know how the earplug practice goes. Apparently Patrick has done it, too. I find it incredibly soothing and pleasant!

  3. She usually wears them when I practice, so she doesn’t have to hear me screaming “Fuck” over and over.

  4. i think hearing ‘fuck’ over and over would be kind of good. sometimes i do it at the shala. when i do a home practice, i do like to have music, but that’s actually cheating and i’m a conservative ashtangi. maybe i should have friday be music day, and silence all other days.
    cranky, i found a better pattern for a beret, so i’m going to do that.

Leave a Reply

