Knee, arm, wall

In my last post, Arturo pointed out — quite rightly — that walking the feet in on urdhva dhanurasana can crunch the sacrum. I’ve been doing it because it allows me to try to push my chest into the wall. If I walk my hands in instead, my chest just gets further away from the wall. Yes, the wall’s a proprioceptive aid and one that I don’t want to get too accustomed to. But it IS handy.

All that said, this morning, I took a different tack. In part because my knee hurt last night. And this morning. My left knee. Yes, the side that Owl recognized as wonky. The weird thing was that the knee would throb, but when I turned my attention to it, it would seem like the pain was actually coming from the left side of my sacrum. Referred pain from sacrum to knee? Vice versa? A yoga spell cast from California?

Anyhow, due to the mysterious pain, this morning it was hand-walking or nothing. But how to solve for needing to get my chest to the wall? I know! Lie down, scrunch the top of your head against the wall really tight, then line up your feet so they are not only close to your butt, but actually pulled up past your butt (like when you put your foot as far behind your hip as possible in Marichy A). THEN push up into urdhva dhanurasana. You are so close to the wall at that point, that you can walk your hands in and still be near the wall.

Okay, I know. Complicated to explain in words. I’ll make a video later.

And speaking of proprioception. I woke up this morning and there was a weight across my tummy. I touched it with my left hand. Agh! An arm! A dead arm!

Yeah. It was mine. That’s freaky.

10 Responses

  1. God no! Only the finest ashtanga exports from California!

    Though I do like this explanation a lot. Next time my IT band is fussy, I’m blaming Nevada.

    (P.S. I forgot to answer an earlier question: I was looking mostly at the last photo, but there was also some indication in the moving images. I noticed a few videos ago but it didn’t seem the right time.)

  2. I’m not surprised about the arm thing. When I was working hard on backbends and opening up my armpits (I had tight shoulders), I went through all sorts of funky feelings or non-feelings on my arms. Sometimes they’d tingle for a few 20 minutes and I’d panic, convinced that I had given myself nerve damage.

    Once, after a particularly strong backbending session, my vision changes. It was as if there were tiny drops of water on the surface of my eyes that I couldn’t wipe away by blinking. That DID freak me out enormously, but when I laid down, it went away. So I went to sleep.

  3. I am on my blackberry, so googling is a pain – so, can you just tell this doctoral-level-educated-but-apparent-retard what proprioceptive means?

  4. You have a PhD, Lauren?

  5. “…but when I laid down, it went away. So I went to sleep.”

    That made me laugh, Vanessa. I’d do the same thing. You realize, though, that 99.9% of the population would stay awake to keep monitoring whatever was freaking them out? Me, I just go to sleep. 🙂

  6. This was when I was working full time as aerobics and yoga instructor, so I used to do a lot of siestas! Those were the times. If I ever find a rich husband, that’s what I’m going back to 😀

  7. Vanessa – in the US, a law school degree is a juris doctorate.

  8. So it’s a postgraduate program? Do you have to do an undergraduate degree first? I think here in the UK it’s two years of post-graduate studies. In Spain it’s an undergraduate degree but then you have to study further four years (or more, until you pass some exams) if you want to be a judge or a notary.

  9. Uhhh…. “Juris Doctorate” (JD) not same as “Doctor of Philosophy” (PhD).

    Really not same.

    Which is not to say that if you had the latter, you’d be smarter YC. A PhD can makes people stupider. I swear it! The JD has a bad rep, but seems to produce quick, practical (if venal) minds. 🙂

  10. To become a lawyer in the US, you have to have an undergraduate degree (it used to be otherwise a long time ago). Then you have to go on to graduate from law school, which if done full-time, generally takes three years. Then, instead of writing a dissertation, you have to take the bar exam, which takes about six weeks of study and two or three days of testing. Owl is right in that a lawyer is a Doctor of Laws or Jurisprudence (depending on your translation). Also, we’re totally screwed in that we are not addressed here as Doctor, and also we are taught to write short, boring sentences (I have since rebelled) and to think in a really, incredibly obnoxious, provocative (as in fight-provoking) way. I seem to have mastered that last bit and have never lost it despite being many years out of practice now.

Leave a Reply

