Blogging blessing, yoga team to Crestone, pasta & bees

Yogamum tagged me with a… well, it’s supposed to be a “bloggin’ blessin'” — but I can’t call it that, and even need to put it in quotes. We will call it a blogging blessing.

Here’s the deal:

… it’s a game of tag with a difference, rather than looking inwardly, we look outside ourselves and bless, praise and pray for three blog friends. By participating in this endeavour we not only make the recipient of the blessing feel valued and appreciated, but we are having some fun too. We’re going to see how far the bloggin’ blessings can travel around the world and how many people can be blessed! Recipients of a bloggin’ blessing may upload the above image to their sidebar if they choose to. If you receive a bloggin’ blessin’ please leave a comment on this site (text link on the right column menu) so that we can rejoice in just how many blessings have been sent around the world!

I think of Yogamum in return (though I won’t tag her back, because then I just seem like I can’t understand the premise of the game…) and also of (0v0) and Tova. And hey! In my gratitude for their presence and friendship, it also occurs to me that I’ve put together a little triumvirate of yoga gals who would be fun to invite on a pilgrimage to visit Annie P in Crestone. Perhaps next September or so? Just a thought, chickies. How fun would that be? I know I’m planning waaaaaay ahead!

Speaking of Tova, yesterday this blog’s keyword search list included: “Tova” & “earth.” Wow, Tova. Your status as Earth Mother is, apparently, legendary. Nice work.

And speaking of earth motherliness: my KitchenAid stand mixer and pasta attachment arrived yesterday. I know, it’s hard to believe, right? That a non-cook like myself would want such a thing? Well, here’s just how limited I am: I want it because I like pasta and I’m too lazy to mix the dough by hand and roll it with a rolling pin and cut it with a knife. If there was a drying attachment, I’d have purchased one of those, as well.

So I have no desire to mix cakes or cookies or anything like that, but I’m gonna be a pasta-making fool. And perhaps some bread and pizza dough.

Before I start mixing up the pasta, though, I am scheduled to go to the Honda dealer to deal with some maintenance on My Gift’s car. The driver side mirror was broken under mysterious circumstances when her roommate borrowed the car. Interestingly, once the mirror fell out, a small wasp’s nest was revealed inside the casing on the car door. I’ve never seen such a thing. We did have a huge bee’s nest inside the wall of an apartment we lived in once. It was here in AZ, and I always had half a dozen to a dozen bees at a time, struggling to get out through the sliding glass door. I couldn’t figure out how they were getting in.

Cut to one day when I was dusting by the corner where the TV stood. I heard a buzzing noise that I thought was a weird electrical noise from the TV. Uh, no — upon further inspection, it was clear that the noise was coming from inside the wall. Sure enough, a day later, there was an enormous swarm of bees out on the patio (thank goodness, not in the house). Exterminators were (reluctantly) called. They put something in the nest and for weeks afterwards the patio was covered with a huge pool of very thick honey. I had to boil pots of water to remove the puddle a few times a day, otherwise lizards got stuck in it. Even a poor bird got stuck one night. So it was lizard and bird rescue for a while there. That’s what I’m accustomed to using my kitchen for: washing honey off lizards and birds.

Okay. Today’s the weekly day off. Gotta get a move on…

15 Responses

  1. Oh thank you! I am off to a little retreat but will catch this up when returned.

    That bit about “Tova Earth” cracked me up. (Tova means good in Hebrew, if I remember correctly.)

  2. Oh, and Crestone! That is pilgrimmage country, allright. Let’s talk about this as the time approaches.

  3. I would be SO in for the Crestone trip! That would be so much fun!

    Enjoy your mixer! Post your pasta recipe!!!

  4. How far are you from Denver, YM? I’m looking at how to get to Crestone, and it looks like all flights go to Denver, then you switch to a turboprop to get to Crestone. I’m kind of horrified and kind of thrilled by turboprops. Another possibility, though, would be to have folks meet in Denver and then drive down. Have you ever done that? Is it a fairly pleasant trip?

  5. oh i love it!!!! that has brought tears of joy to my eyes! i thought my search words would be tentacles and obscurity. this is what laksmi says 🙂 and yes Tova does mean good. and i think i could be in on the crestone trip. by then i should know a little more about what is going on in my life, hopefully be moved here to lovely DC and ready for a trip!

  6. oh oh, and the kitcheaid might make you want to bake something when you realize how easy it makes everything. and if not, enjoy making your pasta. that is something i have never tried doing. and i will forever imagine you washing lizards in your sink 🙂

  7. I just happened to notice that Giada used the Kitchen Aid in today’s episode of Everyday Italian. I think she was making apple zeppole, which absolutely made me salivate. Her recipes are on the website for the Food Channel. She did say that this one was easy – well, maybe for her!

  8. Our bees went INTO the house. Yikes.

    & no fair, I want to go to Crestone too 😉

  9. No problem, Tim! You are certainly welcome to come with!

    Annie’s gonna kick our butts. It will be fun.

  10. I live in the Denver metro area — Crestone is about a three hour drive. I would be more than happy to help with transportation (airport pickups, driving up, etc.). It’s a nice drive at that time of year — in the winter, it can be kind of hairy. I also know a good place to stay in Crestone that can hold quite a few people. Anyway as long as dates, kid arrangements, etc. work out, I’d love to go!!

    Annie definitely kicks butt on those weekends, but in a good way. And her cooking alone is worth the trip.

  11. Ooh, I didn’t know she cooked! I’d love to spend a whole week with her — or at least four or five days… We’ll have to see how it does. And yes, I understand kid arrangements need to be squared away, etc. Just wanted to get the idea out there, so we could see if we can make it happen!!

  12. i was in mysore at the same time as annie and had the pleasure of practicing next to her most mornings. she kinda scares the crap out of me (she has such a strong personality) but i can imagine she’s one heck of a teacher.

  13. Yeah, I like extreme sports, so I guess Annie fear appeals to me! 🙂

  14. Usually, part of her weekend workshop intensive includes a dinner that she cooks. She uses organic, homegrown produce to make an amazing Indian dinner!

    She is SO intense and uncompromising, and has an incredibly generous heart.

  15. I really like people with strong boundaries! Very rare, I think. I had a couple of professors in college who were also intense and uncompromising, and people were terrified of them. I quite liked them, because they were always very clear.

Leave a Reply

