Svadhyaya

This morning, driving to work, I listened to Richard Freeman’s audiocast: Obstacles to Yoga: The Field of Ignorance. Offered in his inimitable style. Have I mentioned I’m a fan?

I was particularly struck by what he has to say about svadhyaya. Specifically, the definition that transitions from vedic chanting to “self-study.” I think I was struck, because I was thinking about how my current home practice feels lately, and there is a significant aspect of self-study involved. A duh! kind of statement, yes, but there you have it.

Yoga has cooled me out (or thinned my kleshas, perhaps) so that I can withstand the internal monolog/drama a bit more dispassionately. God knows, it’s weird what can come up when you stop being distracted by the emotional and physical and psychological and shiny and desirable and compelling and entertaining things going at warp speed around you. It’s strange just to be there, alone with the (supposed) self.

It seems so far away, now, too. Here I am, half a day into work, and I can barely remember practicing this morning. No worries, I can see what it’s like again tomorrow morning. šŸ˜‰

And in happy news: I got a promotion this morning. Always nice when something like that happens. I am still kinda tired from all the work I’ve done since May, though, so mostly I’m just happy I have Thursday and Friday off.

Why am I imagining a svadhyaya tattoo? Hmmmm. Where should it go, I wonder…

9 Responses

  1. congratulations on the promotion! it is nice to receive recognition for your hard work.

    tattoos- i say get it where you can see it. my favorites right now are on either side of my wrist. someday they will be a half sleeve. i would also like to get one right above where i would have cleavage if i had any boobs.

  2. Tova, do you have any pictures of your wrist? I like the idea of having one I can see. Amusingly, I am now at a place, professionally, where I can afford a visible tattoo in corporate-land. Not something a young person can do šŸ˜‰

  3. mazel tov on the promo!

    i, too, am a fan of tattoos i can see with mine own eyes (rather than relying on photos or mirrors). wrists are great spots. i also like the lower belly. it can be easily covered up when it needs to be, is accessible by moi, and holds an emotional charge unlike other areas of my body.

    post pics when you get the work done šŸ˜€

    happy tofurkey day!

  4. Oh wow. And a tattoo to celebrate the promo (especially this tattoo) seems fitting. I like both locational suggestions, esp the wrist.

  5. Congratulations on the promotion!!! And I like the idea of being able to see your tattoo easily – I need a mirror for mine. But it might be a good thing in my case; otherwise I might be constantly staring at it, I like it so much! šŸ™‚

  6. Congratulations on the promotion, Karen! Hmm, tatoos. My last S.O. had one. I just don’t see having one done on my body. I like Rew’s version, “happy tofurkey day.” I’m going to a vegetarian thanksgiving celebration.
    Cheers, Arturo

  7. Congratulations. And the self-confidence and stability that come from having one’s work recognized & valued is a good thing. I say go for the visible tattoo, and then you’ll also be opening some space for the younger folks too. (“Hey, my boss has a tat; I guess I could show mine too.”)

  8. Oh boy, Tim, you know just how to influence me! An opportunity to clear the way for younger tatted corporate types? How could I NOT want to join that initiative? šŸ˜‰

  9. Funny…in England, not employing a tattooed young corporate type is not an option anymore – the talent pool is scarce and the UK is tattoo galore!

Leave a Reply

