Later to bed and later to rise

All last week, The Cop would come into the kitchen in the morning, make his coffee, and announce, “Time to practice!” Last night, I mentioned that I’d noticed his increased participation in my practice, and he said, “Well, I know you are going through a transition.”

Indeed. I am in a practice at home mode. I am loving my little heater in the yoga room, and I am loving using my crash pad to lie over for chakrasana (it gives me enough of a lift that I can practice no-momentum chakrasanas). I love that I am totally unselfconscious at home. It makes practice very dear. And also very integrated into my life.

I was definitely badly burned out over the past few months. Was it work? Was it practice? Was it the traveling? In the end, I can’t really separate those elements of my life enough to make the call one way or another. All I know was the I felt tremendously pressured and totally lacking in resilience. So it is delightful to have the yoga room feel like a regular refuge each morning. And to be able to sleep in and start later. Somehow, over the past few months, I’ve found myself leaving the office later and later each evening. Not healthy. Decided that instead of trying to get out earlier, I could just start later! Which means I am not getting out of bed until 5:30 AM. Early, yes, but not as early as 4:30! That extra hour in the morning has been hugely rejuvenating.

I have a huge new project for work, which is kind of scary and kind of thrilling. I’ll link to the blog I’ve started for the project in a bit. For now, though, I can only say that it’s about corporate real estate, distributed work, IT, and the future of the organization. Woohoo! I love projects like this. I get to read a lot and dream things up.

Back on the home front, The Cop and I did some work on the front yard yesterday. The Cop’s vision of a desert landscaped front yard is coming to fruition. It looks great! His next project is to put the pool out of commission. We don’t use it, and he’s unhappy with how much water and electricity it uses. So he’ll design a solution that’ll: 1) shut down the pool, 2) safeguard it for some day in the future when we might want to fill it again, 3) look good, and 4) give us some useable space. All this (the front yard project and the pool project) because he doesn’t have a car renovation project (his hobby of choice) going on in the garage. Once the pool is done, I might suggest a patio resurfacing project. Oh but wait, he did mention a solar panel project this morning…

Thanksgiving will be quiet — My Gift will stay up at her place. She and her roommate are having a Thanksgiving meal for the folks who work at the brew pub where they work part time. A college kind of Thanksgiving. Fun! The Cop works Thanksgiving evening, so we’ll have an early dinner and then he’ll be off. My sister and her girlfriend will be visiting with my parents on the other side of the valley. We’ll meet up at some point over the weekend. So everything is all set and I don’t have to do much. Nice.

2 Responses

  1. Hi Karen
    Hmm, making an empty pool attractive, that’s a challenging architectural problem. You’ll have to be looking at tarps. If you don’t think that it would devalue the house at the time of selling it in the future, you could turn it into a patio. I’ve read in magazines that people have done that – torn it out and landscaped the yard. Of course I have no idea of the cost and covering it up may be the least expensive solution.

    The practice at home scenario sounds really appealing and peaceful. I sometimes think about doing it. I have a low fee for membership at my shala because of joining early when they opened, so that if I leave that, I would have to pay more should I decide to rejoin in the future. I did practice 2+ years at home here in the city, only going to the shala on Sundays. But it had to do with the distance to the shala. But I agree that this gives you more sleep time, particularly if your workload is increasing and you’re working longer hours. My career is one that also has long hours.

    Good luck on the new project. It sounds neat.
    Cheers, Arturo

  2. I wish my husband had time for big projects (like tiling our bathroom), but alas. . . .

    I’m glad your home practice is working out so well. It’s a great way to start the day (not that I do it!).

    Good luck with your work project. Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

