Saturday

Led class. New faces, which is nice. The British Director told us a few days ago about discovering an Ashtangini at work. Said Ashtangini voiced an interest in coming to practice. And sure enough, she appeared this morning. The British Director was introducing her around and said, “This is Karen. She’s famous. She has a blog.”

How hilarious is that? It makes it sound like I was invited to have a blog. Um, no. No one’s asked for my opinions. 😉

Someone else chimed in: “If you stay, you’ll have a nickname!”

“Really?” the new gal asked. “What’s her name?” (pointing at The British Director).

“The British Director,” I said. The new gal was amused. The British Director is in fact British, but she is not a movie director. She’s a director of technology at a major corporation. I get a kick out of the nickname because it conjures up (in my mind at least) a crazy, idiosyncratic movie director who speaks in a British accent and is intense and waves her arms dramatically and smokes cigarettes and orders actors around. Which is funny, because the real British Director is mellow and good-humored and a non-smoking outdoorswoman.

Sanskrit Scholar is in fact a scholar of Sanskrit, and a truly gifted chanter. She is also a sports-car-driving long-haired blond with a sweet laugh. Go figure.

Nicknames are amusing but they reveal the depth of their own limitations when you get to know the actual person they are attached to.

Practice was nice and hot today. I had a little trouble getting my thoughts to settle down. And when Sanskrit Scholar came over to give me a down dog adjustment, she put her hand on my trapezius.

“Ooooh,” she said, in response to the tension.

“Take it away!” I said.

Everything felt just fine, though my legs are weird. Specifically, the hip flexors. I guess it’s all the backbending work. Hanumanasana felt easy, which is something I never expected to happen. And urdhva dhanurasana feels challenging still, but increasingly well-coordinated. When I did a dropback against the wall, my hands ended up about three inches closer to my feet than they usually go. So there is incremental change. Nice.

Just before practice, My Gift texted me from halfway between Bullhead City, AZ, and Joshua Tree, CA. She and her roommates were on their way to a bluegrass festival in Joshua Tree. They camped overnight in Bullhead City. She happily announced that she was drinking bad rest stop coffee. Ah, such an adventure, for a kid who grew up on Starbucks. I need to quiz her more about her camping experience when she returns. I often tried to get her to hike or camp or climb when she was a kid, but she was adamantly resistant. Perhaps it’s more fun with friends than with your Mom? Who knew.

Tomorrow, I head out to Orlando. Back on Wednesday. Then off to Singapore the following Sunday. I’m not a particularly enthusiastic traveler, and The Cop hates it (hates traveling himself, and hates when I travel). There is a ton of work to be done — on the flights to and from destinations, at the destinations, and when I get back to the office. Sometimes I feel exhilarated by this, but mostly I just feel kind of stressed and (at worst) overwhelmed.

So I will try to pay some attention to this line from the yoga sutras that struck me this morning:

ksana-tat-kramayoh samyamad viveka-jam jnanam

Focusing with perfect discipline on the succession of moments in time yields insight borne of discrimination.

You know, I always wonder about how attending to the succession of moments in time can work in a project-managed environment. If anyone has any thoughts on this, I would love to hear. There is nothing I would like more than to live in the moment. I just wonder how the complex project that needs to be completed in 6 months will fare as I explore individual moments.

I know there has to be a way to do this; I just haven’t figured it out yet.

2 Responses

  1. Being in this moment can be very helpful in dealing with long, complex projects. You focus on what is at hand without worrying about visualizing the end result. Present moment dwelling doesn’t mean forgetting you have a daughter because she’s away camping, so it also doesn’t mean ignoring the fact that there is more to a task than what you are working on at that moment. You totally know that, i know you do!

  2. Ah yes, of course you are right! It seemed easier when I was an “individual contributor” (i.e., “just” a designer). Throw in managing a team and leading interdepartmental intiatives and working on organizational strategy and just basically finding myself in the middle of everyone else’s business, and I have to ask those famous words uttered by David Byrne: “How did I get here?” I’m pretty sure I’m supposed to be in a solitary cell somewhere, meditating and observing a vow of silence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

