Postscript

VBG was interested to hear what responses I got on my question about urdhva dhanurasana yesterday. I told him what Tova thought and I told him what Hamish says — per Vanessa 😉

Sanskrit Scholar, The British Director and I went on to have a chat about moving the hands versus moving the feet. I gave the walk-the-hands-in thing a go: definitely harder than walking the feet in. The word Tova used to describe it is perfect: “precise.” You have to be more precise when you walk in the hands. The British Director noted that she was surprised at how you have to adjust your weight into one arm in order to move the other. I was surprised, too. I mean, it’s a “duh!” realization, but nevertheless. It made me realize that I can move my feet (and consequently, my hips) without any thought — but the hands (and consequently, my shoulders) require much more, well, precision.

Maybe this is just one of those examples of how doing something other than what you are accustomed to doing brings a kind of mindfulness. You can’t just move unconsciously. Or, as I said to the The British Director, maybe it’s just nice to have something to think about while we’re suffering in urdhva dhanurasana.

As I was practicing urdhva dhanurasana this morning, VBG came over and sat on my mat and used his foot to puuuuuuush my chest to the wall. Whoa, just what I needed!

2 Responses

  1. Karen! i am talking about you on my blog in re: the backbending discussion! i am so glad you brought this up!

  2. it’s easier to move the arms in if you bend first, then walk. also fun to just walk forward and backward. i do that sometimes–five steps up, five steps back.

Leave a Reply

