Book meme, Vague dream of practice, Mysterious arm

Yogamum tagged me for a book meme:

Total number of books?

Oh, God. Let’s just say my family and friends have suggested the need for an intervention MANY times. And The Cop rolls his eyes when he references my “book problem.” I have too many here in the house, and have ditched, sold, shared and given away hundreds and hundreds.

Last book read?

Pleasure: Baba: Autobiography of a Blue-Eyed Yogi
Business: Navigating the Badlands

Last book bought?

Convergence Culture: Where Old and New Media Collide

Five meaningful books?

The Portrait of a Lady
The Awakening
Tess of the D’Urbervilles
Ulysses
Kafka on the Shore

Zen addendum:

The Zen Teaching of Huang Po: On the Transmission of Mind
Two Arrows Meeting in Mid-Air: The Zen Koan
Cultivating the Empty Field: The Silent Illumination of Zen Master Hongzhi
Dropping Ashes on the Buddha: The Teachings of Zen Master Seung Sahn
The Compass of Zen

I’d like to tag (0v0), Cody, and Tova. Whatcha been reading, you guys?

***

Vague dream of practice

Webconference with Brussels from midnight ’til 5:45. Then I drove over to the shala. The British Director, Sanskrit Scholar and The Gymnast had already begun. I get going, feeling kind of disoriented. Hey, what’s this? The new yoga studio head has hung paper lanterns off the ceiling and they are swaying in the breeze of the fan. Nice. Drishti-distractors. How interesting that a moving object in my field of vision can almost make me fall over.

Muscle Man comes in to practice. Haven’t seen him for a while. VBG hits me with a new Prasarita C assist; it involves a very light hand on the sacrum and a crank o’ the arms. Alrighty. Then a second-side adjustment on Janu B. I always wonder what’s up when he does a one-sider: I imagine it’s a sign of emotional distress, for some reason — like he’s got something on his mind that’s bothering him. No idea why I think that. Big crank on Marichy D, which is now a perfectly comfy pose. No idea when that happened, but nice.

Whoa, look at me, I am at the intermediate poses. How did that happen? Everything is a blur. Okay, then. Laghu Vajrasana. Wait a minute, did I do everything else beforehand? Yup. Okay. Backbends and dropbacks. Dropbacks are now a game where VBG stands there and says, “Do what you’d do if I wasn’t here.”

“Fall?” I always ask in my mind. That may not be positive thinking.

I am unable to focus enough concentration to pull off a slow curl toward the floor. The fourth dropback is mostly a hurtling toward my mat. VBG grabs me at the bottom of the ride. Whew! I have no concentration. Sorry. Fifth one is okay, but only ’cause I know it’s the last.

Savasana. Mmmmmmmmmm. Am I snoring? No. Okay, then. Comfy… Mmmmmmmmm. Am I snoring? No… This is nice… Mmmmmmmm. Am I snoring? Oh brother, you’d better get up and get out of here.

***

As I started practice, I noticed a pain in my right forearm. And remembered hurting it. I mean, I remember the pain and looking at my arm and thinking, “Ow,” but that’s about it. I can’t remember where I was or what the circumstances were. I don’t think it had anything to do with practice. I treat all physical stuff like this: if it hurts, I look at it, and if it isn’t bleeding profusely or if the limb isn’t trapped and impeding my ability to go about my business, I just forget the whole thing and proceed.

Which is fine 99% of the time. But every so often I end wondering what happened.

Maybe it’ll come back to me.

11 Responses

  1. Thank ganesh my server is fussy, or I’d have to reveal the book I bought today. Will cover that up with something less embarrassing should the Owl come back online.

  2. i think it is more embarrassing that i can’t remember the last book i read or bought. do the books i buy for the store count? oh, actually, Gregor Maehle’s book, that was the last one!

  3. Thanks for the tag – I’ll post soon.

    Now Thomas Hardy, there’s a dude that knew how to write a plot. Not like the kids today, with all their flashy nonsense and no substance.

    (oh no! I’m slipping back into the Gil persona!)

  4. See I just KNEW your list would be full of deep philosophical stuff.

    Portrait of a Lady. *smacks forehead* I can’t believe I didn’t put that one on my list!!!

  5. Yes, Portrait of a Lady. Definitely.

  6. oh, i didn’t read carefully enough *oops* i am tagged! thanks! i will get on it!

  7. I love your blog template, did I mention that?
    I do. Love it.
    It’s very fucking cool:)

  8. cody, I love thomas hardy too.

  9. Thomas Hardy rocks. Anyone else like Theodore Dreiser? I almost put “An American Tragedy” on my list, but then I started feeling depressed just thinking about the book.

    Susan, I wish I could say I had something to do with this blog template — something more than just picking it out. But I love it, too.

    Oh, and Cody, I miss the Gil voice. I rather liked the “Mom” voice that was out there a little while back. It sounded vaguely familiar…

  10. I loved “Sister Carrie” but you’re right, very depressing.

  11. Oooo, I forgot about The Portrait of a Lady. Great book!

Leave a Reply

