Note for Suzie, weird clothing ideas, nausea

Hey Suzie C, if you are reading this, I wanted to give you slightly more detailed info re: finding the shala. I know you have good enough directions to get to the strip mall, but here’s some more info. The center of the mall is ProTan. If you are standing at the bottom of the stairs that lead to ProTan, look down and to your right. You’ll see a wig store called…oh heck, I can’t remember. They have a huge sign that says, “Hair Something Something,” and then there’s a little sign next to that that says, “DFC.” We’re in there. If you get there early, you’ll see VBG standing at the front desk looking at the AZ Republic while everyone wanders in. If you come in once the majority of folks have shown up, the front desk area may be empty. Just go past the desk and then take a left. At the end of the hallway, take a right and you’ll see us in the back room.

My office has summer hours, which is great. The place closes up at 2PM. The downside is that Fridays are madhouses, as everyone tries to get stuff done before close of business. Usually I end up there past 2, which is kind of cool, because it’s quiet and the air-conditioning goes off, which is a lovely change of pace because the office is generally kept at refrigerator temperature. Today, though, I left on time because I wanted to go to the mall and find some new pants. Now that I have clogs, my pants, which I got for flat shoes, are too short. And while I may be willing to be a dork who wears clogs, I am NOT willing to be a dork who wears clogs with pants that are too short.

For a long time I thought I wore a size 4. Actually, back in the bodybuilding days, I did wear a 4. I also weighed about 15 pounds more than I do now. So I gave up the lifting and started practicing and somehow I just couldn’t quite figure out why my size 4 clothes were too big. I didn’t want to wear a 2, because it seemed… I don’t know, unseemly, I guess. Not mature. I don’t mind wearing small jeans, but I feel dopey wearing teeny business clothes. Anyhow, I did finally break down and buy size 2 business clothes. Except, yes, you know what I’m going to say: they are kind of big, too. I went to Express today and tried some slacks, size 2. No go. So I gave the 0s a whirl and they fit. I really didn’t want to buy them, though, in the weird reverse of the I-don’t-want-to-buy-shoes-bigger-than-7 1/2 rule. So I went to The Gap and found some 1s. I know I’m supposed to be happy about this, but mostly it makes me feel uncomfortable.

In my last post, I wrote about how I’m not feeling nauseated or breaking out in cold sweats during backbends anymore. gartenfische asked whether I used to get nauseated because backbends are hard, or whether it was an emotional thing. That’s a really interesting question. And I don’t really know the answer. I do know that the first time I had that reaction (intense nausea and cold sweats) was when I was learning to do free squats with pretty heavy weights. My brother, who was my trainer, explained that it was a reaction from stressing my nervous system. So I always chalked that reaction up as a physical thing, but then I had it happen a few times on really scary climbs. I chalked those nausea-episodes up to an emotional reaction. Looking back, though, I see that the weightlifting wasn’t just about physical stress; I was also scared about crashing and burning under a pile of heavy weights. And the climbing nausea wasn’t just about being emotional about finding myself clinging to a high cliff; it was also because I was exhausted from hiking to the climbing spot (often a 2-3 hour ordeal… in the desert… in the summer) and at least mildly dehydrated from the climb. So my reaction to backbends, I imagine, was both physical (I’m not a natural backbender and don’t tend to use my body that way) and also emotional (I can get anxious when I’m trying new things). Since (0v0) is away in NYC, and likely not reading blogs, I won’t taunt her by adding a spiritual interpretation of my malady. 😉

6 Responses

  1. Thanks, Karen. Sounds like I might not have found it on my own. See you Monday morning!

  2. Re: the clothing size thing: I know just what you mean, but I have also noticed that the clothing industry has changed the way they size things over the years. I bought a dress recently that’s size 4. I haven’t worn size 4 in many, many years. Yeah, I’m thin, but still. I am certain that the dress would have been labeled a 6 ten years ago. That’s my theory, anyway. It’s funny, when you’re on the small side, you don’t necessarily think it’s such a good thing to wear that 0 or 2 that some people think they’d die to get into.

    Backbends are hard for me, because I don’t naturally bend that way, either, but they don’t trigger any emotions (unless Damn! is an emotion). I wouldn’t have believed the emotional connection to asana if I hadn’t experienced it myself. It just seems too touchy-feely new-agey to me.

  3. I’m happy you “get” the size thing. I thought I might catch some grief for “complaining” about the small clothing issue. And yes, I think the sizes are getting bigger. Kind of strange. I don’t like this feeling that I’m shrinking!

    I don’t think the emotional connection is necessarily magical or mystical. Just kind of makes sense that our bodies/emotions are of a piece. I suppose the strange thing is that we split them apart and try to think of them as separate!

  4. Yeah, I guess I have always been a “head” person, and have split the mind/body/emotions into separate pieces. It’s a reflection of our society, too, I think. Which is one of the reasons yoga is sooo good for me.

  5. Yup, I have head person tendencies, too. Much better, after years (actually, decades) of different physical practices. Now I can pass for a “body” person to folks who don’t know any better. I do have friends, though, who are true body people: natural athletes and dancers, etc. I used to be very envious, but now that I’m a little more balanced, I’m feeling… well, more balanced! 😉

  6. Aaah, look what I missed!

    You know that the spiritual interpretations delight me! They just also quickly remind me of my own tendency to want to know, to render causal analysis, to put fine points on things.

    Did I mention my athiest live-in is amazing with the tarot? When we come to Arizona one of these days (not planned, but you know…) maybe we could get him to indulge in an interpretive frenzy.

Leave a Reply

