Rabbit breath

Showed up for practice at 5:30 AM and noticed the space was dark. Door was open, though, and as I went in I was greeted by Volleyball Guy and a few of the other Mysorians. Electricity was out in the building, so everyone put their mats down in the entryway, where we got some light by the front window.

(0v0) mentioned that it can be interesting to move away from your usual place in the practice room, and today we took it a step further. I practiced next to a small fake tree in the entryway. It was distracting, which was no surprise (not the tree, specifically, but the new space). More than the surroundings, though, was the fact of the proximity of the other Mysorians. Usually we are spaced apart enough that I can slide forward on my mat during the seated poses. Today, I was aware of the person in front of me. No worries, though.

Practice was zippy, because I had an early meeting at the office. I didn’t feel rushed, though, until supta vajrasana. The Sicilian, who gave me an assist, said, “I was trying to match my breathing to yours, but you breathe so fast!” I need to check in with VBG on this again. A while back, he told me not to worry one way or another about my breath. Sanskrit Scholar asked last week if I felt like Sharath’s CD was perfect timing (I do), and commented that it is very fast.

After The Sicilian’s remark, I got to thinking a bit about my breath. I have learned (via bodybuilding, cardio and climbing) to use my breath to optimize my strength and endurance. Certainly, there were plenty of times when I was climbing that I had to execute a move quickly, before my strength gave out. And once you are on a roll, you can keep going. Basically, the speed reduces the need for strength. And it seems to increase endurance, to keep a quicker breath. I’m not sure how all of this intersects with breathing and flexibility, but I’ll be curious to see if something comes of these thoughts.

During the backbending workshop with Lisa, she had us come out of ustrasana (and kapotasana) by pushing the tailbone back, which is a lot easier than coming up with the tailbone pushed forward (the way I had always done it). I laughed after I tried it, and said, “This is so much easier, it feels like cheating.” She thought that was very funny. But I am left with the same feeling, now that I am thinking about my quick breath.

