GTD, two thoughts, BBQ

There is a world of GTD-related info out there. I’ve been looking at wikis that can be used to implement the system. I’m chained to Outlook & Internet Explorer at work, and would love to find something that’s compatible, so I can sync up work and home projects. Would prefer it to reside in a personal wiki, rather than on corporate’s server… If anyone knows of anything that might be suitable, please let me know.

A new woman came to led class yesterday. She had never done Ashtanga, and I think perhaps hadn’t done much of any kind of yoga. She gave it as good a shot as one might imagine. She was two mats down from me. Volleyball Guy did his best to keep her afloat, but the current of a led class moves along rather rapidly. I occasionally have “poor me” moments where I think about how sad it is that I didn’t find Ashtanga until two years ago. I tell myself I’m being lame and that everything that preceded my finding Ashtanga was necessary, my karma, etc., etc. Yesterday, though, I suddenly felt entirely grateful for where I find myself at this very moment. I’m two years in and the transformation has been nothing short of revolutionary. Thank God for the fact I’ve had these two years and that there are more to come. At this very moment, I’m lucky — the past is immaterial. I saw it clearly for a few moments, knowing even then that I would lose it again. No matter. What’s seen is seen.

Someone asked me if I was going to keep taking classes at Starbucks of Yoga once Volleyball Guy opens his shala (July 1! Yay!). I was surprised by the question, because why WOULD I take classes at Starbucks? Then I realized that this is an “Ashtanga-specific” response. I don’t choose from a range of different classes according to my taste/preference at any given moment. I go to my teacher and I do the same practice day after day after day. It’s about the practice, not the class. I thought of the first time Volleyball Guy mentioned that I should check out Mysore practice. “What’s the real difference?” I asked him. “All Ashtanga makes you strong,” he said, “but Mysore practice makes you strong here” — as he pointed to his head.

My parents, my sister and my sister’s girlfriend are all coming over for a BBQ today. My Gift and The Frenchman will also join us. I hate entertaining. I have no idea why. This particular event is partly under duress, meaning my Mom suggested it because my sister and her girlfriend are in town from California. Maybe I’ll have fun. Who knows. Generally, I’m not crazy about “extended family time,” and I’m not so hot on entertaining in general. As I said, I have no idea why this is. Too many lifetimes as a hermit, perhaps? One big “reason” for the BBQ is because my sister’s GF hasn’t seen our house. I don’t like showing people my house. It seems creepy to bring people through my personal space: “Here’s where I take a bath… Here’s where I sleep… Look at my pillow, doesn’t it look comfy?… Oh, and my closet. Look at my clothes all hung up.” LOL! I don’t know. These situations always make me feel like an alien being.

4 Responses

  1. This is great. I thought you’d be a quick study on this system—looks like you might take it to its fullest expression!

    There are two ways it’s hurt me. One is that I write way too much down. Like, if I want to take a bath in the evening to relax, I might put it on my evening list. I won’t charge my phone unless it’s on the list. So it’s made me stupid like that. Two is that while my efficiency is great from the point of view of my groups, it’s put me personally in a prone position within those groups. I’m much more likely to receive offers I can’t refuse for new projects. I like this! But it draws my energy away from deep focus on my individual work. Going deep on big solo projects is not my strength, and GTD can draw me out of the writing-zone. Sometimes when I pretend to be a flake (so painful to do) and let others pick up the pieces, I get “more” done.

    Software…you might find some GTD-friendly biz applications at Socialtext.

    Good luck with the entertaining from a sister hermit.

  2. I have not so often people at home. I prefer to meet outside in a cafe or restaurant. I can understand you so well. And then the guests don’t go. You have to yearn several times in order to make them understand that you want to go to bed, but they do not understand. They are still waiting for the liquer or the espresso or another story. hahaha.

    Then they do not put off their shoes. When they put off their shoes they have sweating feet.

    Eating habits differ enormously. Nowadays it is more and more difficult to satisfy people. When you have wine, they want to drink a beer and so on.

    It’s difficult to invite different people. Sometimes they don’t like each others or they are even jalous.

    So it remains to say: Have fun with your guests.

    One day when my house will be large enough I will invite people. I always like to tell stories, but I won’t show all my rooms to the guests. Amen.

  3. P.S. Forgot to mention this, but thought it might be timely: _Evocative Objects: Things We Think With_ by Sherry Turkle. Out this week in hardback–I haven’t read it but she’s good.

  4. LOL! Thanks for understanding my hermit tendencies, (0v0) and Ursula. I am always horrified to be taken through people’s houses, and I avoid showing mine to other people, even though I know some people think it’s rude not to do the big tour.

    I understand the microscopic organizational problem: every detail written out and total inability to function without reviewing the notes. LOL! Also what I call “punishment for good behavior” — if you can do a lot, we’ll give you more! I book Wednesdays as my telecommuting/thinking day. Can’t always really do deep thinking, but at least it’s a gesture in that direction. One weakness I have to resolve: more fearless delegating!

    I just this week clipped an ad for _Evocative Objects_ out of the NY Review of Books! Same wavelength. Right now I’m finishing up _The Dancing Girls of Lahore_ by Louise Brown. A look at the red-light district in Lahore, Pakistan. The author grows too close to the family to be a “proper sociologist” (and she’s conscious of this), but she also avoids any theorizing about the situation: just a simple, clear narrative that’ll break your heart.

    Okay, off to be Martha Stewart!

Leave a Reply

