GTD, help me!

The GTD book rocks. It is very methodical, and trying it out will give me an entertaining project when I go back to work next week. I have been very resistant, emotionally, to the idea of returning to work. Every time I think about it, I want to cry. Why, though? I have an interesting job, which is challenging and pays well, blah blah blah… I think the reason I wake up and think, “Oh God, my vacation week is almost over!” with such grief is because I love having unstructured time. I love thinking about whatever I want to think about, instead of thinking about all the things I have to think about. Ack! My mind gets so cluttered with work. GTD is going to save me, though. ๐Ÿ˜‰

GTD suggests writing down all “things to do” as soon as you think of them, so you can get them out of your mind. I do that at work as a matter of course, but I don’t do it at home — at least not all the time. I will buy a bunch of little notebooks to keep around the house so I can gather those thoughts (put soap in the guest bathroom, don’t forget chamois for Saturday led, etc.). This ought to amuse (and horrify) The Cop and My Gift, who already think my organizational inclinations are a little over the top. I get made fun of at work for having individual legal pads with team members’ names on the top — so I can jot down things I need to remember to talk to them about, etc.

Okay, so maybe I can also use this system to organize my emotional to-do list. My Gift was due to drive up to San Francisco on Wednesday. She arrived here in town on Monday and came down with a stomach flu. So she’s been down for the count. In the meantime, I have the general my-kid-is-sick worry, and there is also the will-she-ditch-the-trip-if-she’s-too-sick concern, along with the I-want-her-to-make-a-good-decision-about-this-but-she-is-an-adult-so-all-I-can-do-is-influence-her thought, followed by the I-don’t-want-to-be-a-nag-but-I-do-want-to-get-my-point-across thoughts. All of these thoughts/feelings/worries are actually quite subterranean for the most part — they work inside me and I pick up on them if I wake during the night or when I am falling asleep or in a really quiet frame of mind. Some days when I’m heading to practice, I’ll feel like something is gnawing at me, and it’ll take a little while for me to go through my list of concerns and finally understand the getalt of the current worry system I’m carrying around.

Last night, My Gift called her friend and said she was recovering from her illness and would have to cancel the trip to San Fran. All my worrying was for naught. I wonder if having consigned it to a piece of paper might have been helpful. Just so I could kind of get it out of my head.

Anyhow, it’s worth a try. Not sure if David Allen meant his system to be used for both work and emotional stuff, but hey, we’ll see how it works. He does say he doesn’t distinguish between work and life: so let’s give it the acid test.

Mysore practice was quiet this morning: The British Director, Sanskrit Scholar, The Other Dave and me. I felt kind of sluggish and headachey at the start, but that went away pretty quickly. Went along through primary (with a great adjustment in supta kurmasana — finally my legs are starting to really get firmly behind my head!) and then into the intermediate poses. Volleyball Guy came over and adjusted me in a whole string of poses: krounchasana, salabhasana A and B, bhekasana (love that one!) and dhanurasana. I spent a little time scrunching around in the scapula during parsva dhanurasana. That one’s still a treasure hunt: not sure what I’m looking for quite yet, but no matter. The beauty part of this intro to intermediate experience is that my back is starting to feel both more relaxed and more articulated, as if there is room for me to discover something in there: I remember that same revelation (about my hips/lower back) when I was first learning primary.

The catch-22, at this point, is that by the time I get to the backbends I most need to do, I am pretty darned tired. I guess this exhaustion will diminish with time. Maybe it’s protective: how badly can I over-do when I’m ready to lie down on my mat and go sleepy?

Okay, time to go have another vacation day. Perhaps a tattoo this evening…

4 Responses

  1. I just bought the book, and have been thinking a little about changing my org system – which consists primariiy of my inbox and the geography of my desk.

    So far, though, I’m wondering if I’m just procrastinating the organizing by researching the optimum organizing method ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. The book is excellent. I changed my system at home according to this Guy. It’s a very practical book. Have fun with it. Ursula

  3. LOL! Well, Tim, once you read the book, there is a world of software that can be used to implement the program. This morning, I’ve been reading about GTD-friendly wiki apps… At least productivity is getting to be a little entertaining. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Ursula, I am curious to see how this will affect my home organization. Does it make housecleaning disappear?!

  4. Haha, no, it does not disappear, but the tasks are better organized and you always know what you have to do, because it is written in your list books.

Leave a Reply

