blogging, dreams, work, reading

Hmmmm. The whole “people often stop blogging when they get a ways into intermediate series” — where did I read that? I can’t remember, but imagine it must have been either on ezBoard or on someone’s blog…

rew left me a funny comment yesterday, and suggested crazy dreams might be related to backbends:

you had a cameo in my dreams last night. well, technically, it was you, the cop, and your parents (?!). and you all had this crazy fetish for flash frozen shrimp…the gurlfriend and i were NOT to stand in your way of the shrimp display at the make-believe restaurant we were all eating at.

Clairvoyant, rew! I’ve been really into shrimp lately. Perhaps wanting more protein because of all the backbends? I know I’ve read about second series disturbing people’s sleep. That’s not happening to me, though: I’ve been sleeping like a log. And waking up sore. This morning it was shoulders, lats, and triceps like crazy. Plus, I’ve been more emotional than usual. Not that it really shows that much. I’m pretty reserved. My boss picks up on it, though. I get a little more wound up and perhaps make more pointed comments.

I had something I wanted to talk to her about and asked if we could talk after a meeting we both attended. I don’t ask for this very often, as I generally go about my own business. After we talked about the issue I had on my mind, she said, “You scared me! I thought you were going to tell me you were leaving to go open a yoga studio!” I laughed and told her no, but that I’d appreciate it if she’d keep that little vision going.

So yeah, work has been crazy. Lots of practice for me: letting things go, putting things down, being judicious, being patient. I don’t get particularly contentious, but I do get kind of grrr about all of the corporate stuff.

I did realize, though, that I might be a little overdosed on a maybe-too-broad variety of reading: research/futurist predictions about global economies, technology, labor markets (for work); intro to advaita; how to care for curly hair (yes, a whole freaking book!); a research study on the positive and negative effects of perfectionism on sports performance (also for work). Gah! My head is full, and all I really want to do is backbend. How has this happened?

The work stuff was all pretty well resolved by close of business today. As I was walking past her office, my boss said, “Are you okay?”

“Yeah, I’m good,” I said.

“I need you here,” she said. “No yoga studio. Not yet. Maybe in 20 years.”

8 Responses

  1. This redesign is excellent. Swooping-but-angular lines like these also make nice tattoos, especially for script-tattooos.

    BTW, your comments at IO today made a ton of sense to me. Reassuring, too. (Sometimes I wonder if I’m having the “wrong” experience, lordhelpme–need to have more monks laugh at my dumb questions, probably)

  2. I wonder, if we went back and read research/futurist predictions from the early 20th century, what they would say?

    btw, since there’s a whole book on moola bandha, I wouldn’t be surprised by a three volume treatise on curly hair.

    Gotta go 🙂

  3. how funny — i must have been channeling your protein needs from the other coast!

    happy shrimp eating, but for future reference, you don’t have to challenge me to a smackdown if i’m in the way of a particularly engaging display. i respond quite well to an “excuse me” 😀

  4. (OvO), I’ve never thought of it before, but to have the monks laugh at you over and over again when you ask questions about things that really can’t be pinned down with words is a pretty impressive teaching technique. At first it pinches your ego. After a while, though, you laugh, too, because there’s nothing more amusing than a laughing monk, and because you start to see how silly you’re being. Direct experience is the one touchstone of zen (whether you bother to (try to) articulate it or not), and the laughing monks never let you stray from it.

    Thanks for the compliment on the new design. It’s a template from WordPress. Wish I could take credit, ’cause it sure is pretty…

    Tim, Seems like futurists stay in pretty reasonable territory (“technology will continue to advance”), at least the so-called reputable ones. They’re really bullish on nanotechnology, which is kind of interesting. I am curious, now, about the 20th century predictions — esp. early 20th century. Thanks for adding to the reading list. Do you want to borrow the curly hair book when I’m done?

    Rew, I promise I will behave when we have dinner together! I remember the daughter of a friend in California (she was about 7 at the time) talking about how she loved her Mom, and then adding, “Just don’t try to take ice cream away from her.” 🙂

  5. I think “people stop blogging when they are well into second series” is a myth. If you think about it, blogs are a very recent phenomenon. The oldest ones I can think of are Julie’s, Alan Little’s and Satya Cacananda’s. Not sure what Alan is up to because he blogs much less often now, but Julie and Satya are well into Intermediate and still blogging.

    What I did hear, though, is that a lot of people just stop practicing when they are in the first third of Intermediate (somewhere between Pasasana and Kapotasana) and I’m not surprise to hear this, because that seems to be the breaking point for people that are naturally flexible. They tend to lack strength and endurance (sweeping generalization but there is some truth in it) so it just becomes too bloody hard. Stiffies like me usually stay in Primary for a long, long time, but once they get to Intermediate the long practice, although tough, is still bearable because we tend to be naturally strong.

    Just my thoughts. Don’t take any of this as an absolute truth.

  6. Oh, very interesting idea, Vanessa! I was just thinking this morning that practice is notching up a level, and that strength is really coming into play in a much more significant way than it does in primary. Recently, Sanskrit Scholar told me that two very flexy practitioners who can just glide through the most intense backbends actually hate intermediate! I couldn’t understand why that would be, but sounds like it aligns with your theory.

    I know I finish my practice with a sense of “I am strong, like ox!” which translates to: not flexy, but reliably strong and hardheaded. 😉

    It may also be that humans tend to lose interest in almost anything after two or three years? Who knows. An interesting subject, though.

  7. Oh, do tell the name of the book about curly hair, please!! I have recently stopped fighting my hair and embraced its natural, very curly state, but it needs help!

Leave a Reply

