Back

How good was it to be back at Mysore practice? On a scale of 1-10, it was off the charts. The room was nice and warm, and The British Director squealed, “It’s Karen!” from padangusthasana. “You’ll be needing lots of downward dog adjustments,” Volleyball Guy announced. Yup! Bring ’em on!

What better way to feel like you are returning to your body and your practice than the persistent ministrations of one’s teacher? Volleyball Guy was on the job, doling out adjustments at a “welcome back” pace. I think there were at least 4, and possibly 5, in the suryas alone.

After that, adjustments for: trikonasana, paschimottanasana, purvattanasana, triang mukha eka pada paschimottanasana (just one side on that one — made me think of Tim’s post about single-sided adjustments… part of me wanted to feel ripped off, but then, basically, I just didn’t really care — I trust Volleyball Guy to figure out the priorities of the room and proceed accordingly). I was then on my own until urdhva muka paschimottanasana and setu bandhasana. Took a shot at pasasana, which is very unpredictable at this point, then wrapped it up.

Urdhva dhanurasana was pretty good this morning. It’s a nemesis pose for me, and I’m trying to figure out how to pay attention to it without getting psycho about the whole thing. Last night I did dropbacks at home using the rope wall, an idea I cooked up as I waited up for My Gift to return from college. She packed up her dorm room, moved her stuff to the house she and a couple of girls are renting, cleaned her dorm room, and turned in her keys. Rock on, little Boo. It pleases me no end that she took a matter-of-fact attitude about finishing finals, finding a place to live, and moving her stuff. I asked if she needed any help with anything, but she had it all squared away on her own. Love the independence!

From the sounds of it, the rental house should probably be condemned and demolished, but I clearly remember such funky housing when I was in undergrad. It was a sticking point with my folks, who for some reason expected me to be able to find reasonably-priced, upper-middle class suburban lodgings in the midst of a major city. My Gift is thrilled at the thought of her first official domicile, one without parents or RAs or any authority whatsoever. Such fun! I remember a huge blizzard in Boston when I was in undergrad. I had 4 roommates. My Mom called the day before the storm was due to hit and asked if we had gone shopping for supplies. “Yes!” I said, gazing fondly over the bottles of Jack Daniels, the packs of cigarettes, and the bags of Cheetos and pot.

Tomorrow is led class, followed by lunch with Sanskrit Scholar, The British Director and Girl with a Red Mat. I’ll finally feel like I am fully recovered, once I’m back to the led and lunch routine. đŸ™‚

One Response

  1. Sounds like a great practice!

    I had the same feelings you had about Your Gift when we were interviewing our summer babysitters last weekend; she’s going to be moving to Ann Arbor for the summer and living for the first time in a “real” apartment. Ah to be young again.

Leave a Reply

