Half primary

Half primary this morning and all is well. 🙂 Actually, I got to navasana and figured I ought to go ahead to kurmasana and supta kurmasana. Kurmasana and supta k still strike me as the most “dangerous” poses in the series, so there was a psychological desire to just go ahead and deal with them. I had a bit of apprehension at marichy D, because I was afraid I wouldn’t be able to do it after three weeks off. Same deal with kurmasana/supta k. They were the hardest poses for me to learn and I guess a part of me still feels they might escape my grasp.

Both were just fine. In fact, supta kurmasana was better than usual. Perhaps because my shoulders are relaxed from all the lying around and recovering, and the lack of a bazillion daily chaturangas.

Tomorrow I will see about just going ahead and rolling through all of primary.

To help keep things in perspective, I will note that urdhva dhanurasana sucked majorly. Not in my back, but in my shoulders. Haha! There is consistency in my practice.

6 Responses

  1. Hi Karen…I know that I am coming late to the party here, but I was wondering if you could tell me what surgery you had? I saw the before and after, and you look great…but the big mystery to me, is what was done exactly? Lauren

  2. Hi Lauren,

    Blepharoplasty — upper and lower lids.

    I’ll have to post final pics one day — the “after” was only two weeks after, so I’m actually still journeying toward the final after 😉

  3. I totally get that. You know I had rhinoplasty in October, right? My nose is still terribly swollen. It was doing really well as the winter progressed, but in the past month, it expanded! Now, it seems to be back on its way down again. I am a big sweller, so this up and down stuff is probably going to contine for another six months to a year….

    Congrats on your surgery.

    Lauren

  4. Yes, I knew about the rhinoplasty. Perhaps that subconsciously helped push me toward finally getting my eyes done, which I’d been thinking about for years (as in decades).

    I used arnica homeopathic pills, and I did heal and de-swell at a rate that surprised my surgeon. Though when I did finally tell him about the pills, he dismissed them. 😉 Perhaps if you have any more surprise swelling, you might want to check them out.

  5. HI Karen – the mysorians miss you sorely! We had visitors today, there were 9 this am 🙂 Will we see you tomorrow?

  6. Sent you an email!

Leave a Reply

