Sound of my own voice

Just listened to a bit of the recording of a global webconference call I was on this morning. Ack! The sound of my own voice! I really don’t like listening.

Mostly I hate speaking in public and recorded situations because when I am talking, I can’t be thinking. So I launch off into the sound of my own voice, always vaguely wondering where in the world I’ll end up, since I can’t seem to think and talk at the same time.

My boss, who is wonderful, understood that if I did a webconference this morning from 5 – 6:30, then I’d need time to practice afterwards. I didn’t get into the office until 9.

Practice was good. Nothing fancy, but nice to have silence and not have to say anything at all.

I have a little nerve thing going on in the sacrum — a little sore spot that flares up a bit every now and then. It’s flares have changed quality over the course of the past year and a half of practice. Much less frequent, less achey. But the past couple of days, there’s been a little sharp pain. Fleeting, but a bit worrisome. Hopefully just an opening, with a quick and happy resolution.

4 Responses

  1. In the 7 or so years that I’ve been working in voice-overs, I’ve never really gotten used to the sound of my own voice. I think we have a disconnect in hearing it played back because we’re used to hearing it from the inside.

    Worse still is hearing yourself on the radio in the shower when you’re half awake. I often tell myself to just shut up.

    Even worse is co-workers telling me that they’ve been woken up on the clock radio to me. Now that’s got to be sheer torture!

  2. Is there anything out there that I might have heard? I think it’s funny that you feel reluctant to hear your voice, given you are a professional. I don’t like hearing mine because I’m NOT a professional, and it shows!

  3. I do a lot of weird work like sales videos for corporate meetings and online trainings for computer technicians and the like. Most of my commercial work is regional, so I doubt you’ve heard me out west…but you never know! If you’re curious, here’s a link to me doing a Colbert-esque announcer: http://www.tisdaleinc.com/CarWindow.mp3

    Like most people I tend to focus on my flaws. So when I hear myself, I hear every slur, misplaced breath and opportunity for improvement. There’s definitely a lot of mental yoga going on in the booth!

  4. I listened. You’re delusional — you have the clearest voice I’ve ever heard! Well, it’s nice to know that even people with broadcasters’ voices suffer self-consciousness 😉

Leave a Reply

