Sound of my own voice

Just listened to a bit of the recording of a global webconference call I was on this morning. Ack! The sound of my own voice! I really don’t like listening.

Mostly I hate speaking in public and recorded situations because when I am talking, I can’t be thinking. So I launch off into the sound of my own voice, always vaguely wondering where in the world I’ll end up, since I can’t seem to think and talk at the same time.

My boss, who is wonderful, understood that if I did a webconference this morning from 5 – 6:30, then I’d need time to practice afterwards. I didn’t get into the office until 9.

Practice was good. Nothing fancy, but nice to have silence and not have to say anything at all.

I have a little nerve thing going on in the sacrum — a little sore spot that flares up a bit every now and then. It’s flares have changed quality over the course of the past year and a half of practice. Much less frequent, less achey. But the past couple of days, there’s been a little sharp pain. Fleeting, but a bit worrisome. Hopefully just an opening, with a quick and happy resolution.

