Further adventures on the neurological highway

Ah, more vaguely migrainous feelings! Not the pain, thank goodness, but the strangeness. Like the world is slightly “off.” The thing that’s kind of cool about this is that I trained myself over decades to immediately relax and chill when migraines threaten. So it’s a little biofeedback loop that has me going into meetings today feeling very relaxed and laid back. Nice.

So yeah, the backbending continues to adjust my neurology. Yesterday, Volleyball Guy assisted me in dropbacks, then had me hold in urdhva dhanurasana while he… slowly… looked… around… for… his… camera… set… up… a… shot… paused… to… comment… on… my… patience… told… me… to… smile… laughed… hysterically… at… his… joke… reconsidered… the… shot… set… up… another… paused… chatted… with… another… Mysorian… told… me… to… stay… strong… laughed… some… more… and… then… finally… took the damn photo.

I really felt it this morning. In the gluteus minimus, I believe. And my traps, it seems.

There are two opposing forces at work inside me when it comes to backbends. The patient, methodic, optimistic, diligent, mindful backbender. And the hysterical, this-is-something-I-will-NEVER-be-able-to-do, impatient backbender. I am amused at how swiftly I can alternate between the two perspectives. Sometimes back and forth a few times all within the the time it takes to do just one pose. This morning’s practice was all about careening back and forth on that continuum.

Am I learning anything about backbending? Yes. Am I clear about what it is that I’m learning? Well, I am, physically. Intellectually, not so much. And for some reason, I find that utterly delightful.

Leave a Reply

