Rise and shine

Sad to say, the super-flexible morning practice I had yesterday at Volleyball Guy’s did not repeat this morning. Oh well. It would have been a lot to ask for–after all, I was tied up at work until 7PM last night, and then we went out for dinner, and yes, my one drink did taste especially good and strong–and this morning I discovered that it tasted really strong because apparently it was really strong. Duh.

A couple of times a year, my work requires a Saturday half-day. And today’s the day. We host VIPs from all over the world who want to audition to teach seminars for the company. So today was home practice, much too early, a bit hung over, stiff, sore, and distracted about how much time I have before I have to be at work. LOL! Not the most conducive conditions. And yet, it was just fine. Moments when I was really present, moments when I was concerned with all the other stuff.

Last night at dinner, The Cop and I discussed Ashtanga (well, I discuss it on a daily basis, but this time he brought it up in relation to himself). As I’ve told him before, he would 1) be a talented practitioner, being long-limbed, light, strong, and quite flexible, and 2) benefit greatly, from a meditative perspective. He is curious about the practice, but he also has many job-related practices he needs to keep up with–martial arts/fight training, practicing at the range, running, weightlifting. He has a full plate.

But he seems to understand that his job puts him in a position to always take a rather negative view of humanity, of always expecting the worst. And somehow he sees Ashtanga practice as a way to curb this tendency. It’s interesting that he senses this. Also not quite time yet for him to practice, I think. But I imagine he will eventually. When I hear people being curious, I always sense the karma bringing them to practice. It’s like hearing deep, deep into their pasts, before they were even born.

One Response

  1. That’s cool what you said about seeing the karma bring them to the practice.

Leave a Reply

